Governors of Barnsley Academy

Barnsley Academy is a part of United Learning whose Trustees hold the ultimate responsibility for the governance of each United Learning school.

The Department for Education’s governance handbook identifies the essentials of effective governance as follows:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

United Learning’s Trustees delegate certain key roles and responsibilities to the school’s Local Governing Body (LGB) and these are set out clearly in Appendix 4 to the United Learning LGB Members Handbook, which can be seen on the United Learning website.

Local Governing Board (LGB)

Nigel Robson Chair Person
Paul Crook Local Governing Board Member
Nic Thorpe Local Governing Board Member
Andrea Garnett Finance / Health & Safety Governor
Ryan Lowe Non Teaching Representative 
Joanne Perry Parent Safeguarding Governor
Glynn Shore Parent Governor

You can write to the Chair of the Local Governing Board: C/O Barnsley Academy.  

The clerk to the Local Governing Board is Kathryn Rangeley and can be contacted via the main school number 01226 284606

The school is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB. Tel: 01832 864 444

United Learning